Heritage
Duffell House added to Subiaco heritage list
SUBIACO ● 14 February 2026
Duffell House at 135 Hamersley Road, Subiaco has been added to the City of Subiaco's heritage list, recognising the Federation-era house and its unusual tower, which is believed to have contained a secret treasure.
The house was constructed in 1906 for Joseph Duffell, who was elected Subiaco mayor in 1912 and later became a Member of Parliament. According to a heritage report prepared by the National Trust, bricks used in the house were brought from France to Australia as ship's ballast.
Its distinctive tower originally had no windows or access and was reportedly used to store Duffell's valuables. The house was later owned by Eric and Wilhelstone Kaye, who purchased it around the turn of the century and restored it.
During the restoration, a secret door into the tower was discovered behind old-fashioned brass switches and painted and decorated to blend into the surrounding wall.
The City of Subiaco is considering four local heritage listings, with public submissions closing on 24 February 2026.
POST Newspapers ● Page 38 ● Lloyd Gorman
.png)